The Gensler Confirmation Hearing: Two things for you to do

By John E. Deaton, Founder and Host, CryptoLaw.

The U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs will hold a hearing today at 10:00am E.T., on the confirmation of Gary Gensler to Chair the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Every digital asset holder in the U.S. must understand that the next SEC chair will be the most important appointment in the history of cryptocurrencies.  The future of crypto and our future as holders and investors will ride on the actions, and inactions, of the SEC in the next four years.

As the former Chair of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission and an MIT professor who is well versed in blockchain technology, Gensler should know the importance of nurturing innovation. 

He should sit down in good faith with cryptocurrency investors, project developers and companies building blockchain products and get to work with the rest of the Administration on the regulatory framework for digital assets that this country urgently needs.

So here are two things that every U.S. digital asset holder should do:

  1. Watch the hearing at this link.  And pay close attention — not only to Gensler’s answers and responses, but also of whether the senators on that committee are representing your concerns and your interests or not.  Are they standing up for you?  Are they paying attention?
  • Make your voice heard.  Here are the members of the Senate Banking Committee, and how you can reach them on Twitter. 

Don’t be shy

Let them hear you:


Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Chairman: @SenSherrodBrown

Jack Reed (D-RI): @SenJackReed

Bob Menendez (D-NJ): @SenatorMenendez

Jon Tester (D-MT): @SenatorTester

Mark Warner (D-VA): @SenatorWarner

Elizabeth Warren (D-MA): @SenatorWarren

Chris Van Hollen (D-MD): @ChrisVanHollen

Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV): @SenCortezMasto

Tina Smith (D-MN): @SenTinaSmith

Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ): @SenatorSinema

Jon Ossoff (D-GA): @Ossoff

Raphael Warnock (D-GA): @ReverendWarnock


Pat Toomey (R-PA), Ranking Member: @SenToomey

Richard Shelby (R-AL): @SenShelby

Mike Crapo (R-ID): @MikeCrapo

Tim Scott (R-SC): @SenatorTimScott

Mike Rounds (R-SD): @SenatorRounds

Thom Tillis (R-NC): @SenThomTillis

John Kennedy (R-LA): @SenJohnKennedy

Bill Hagerty (R-TN): @SenHagerty

Cynthia Lummis (R-WY): @SenLummis

Jerry Moran (R-KS): @JerryMoran

Kevin Cramer (R-ND): @SenKevinCramer

Steve Daines (R-MT): @SteveDaines